Cornelius Adumpo



Fiok Committee Inaugurated


Radio Builsa (106.5 FM), October 17, 2014

The committee that will oversee the organization and celebration of the 2014 edition of the Fiok Festival celebrated by chiefs and people of the Bulsa traditional area in the Upper East Region of Ghana was inaugurated on Friday, October 17, 2014.

The inauguration of the committee was done by the Paramount Chief of the Bulsa Traditional area Naab Azagsuk Azantilow II.

Addressing the public before the swearing in of the committee members, the paramount chief said the Bulsa Fiok was the first to be instituted in the whole of the then Upper Region and when other people saw its beauty they started instituting their own festivals.
Naab Azagsuk added that the main objectives for the celebration of this year's Fiok is to unite Bulsa all over the world and to develop Buluk through the festival.
The paramount chief said Bulsa have always been noted for their truth and bravery. Their love for the truth no matter the circumstance has led to what has now become popularly known as the Bulsa way. He said knowledge of their bravery and superiority led the British to enlist them in the armed forces of the Gold Coast and during the two World Wars of the 20th century where they gave an excellent account of themselves as brave and efficient fighters. He added the monument which was brought to Sandema by the families of the war heroes and erected at the forecourt of the Bulsa Traditional Council, after the First World War, speaks volumes of their bravery. 

The former deputy chairman of the electoral commission and member of the Electoral Commission, Mr. David Adeenze Kangah urged the committee members to work tirelessly for a successful Fiok. He said the committee in their planning, should make projections into future celebrations. He said the committee should start thinking of developing the ideas of the monument erected in memory of the war heroes. 

This year's Fiok will be the 42nd, and it will be celebrated on the 20th of December, 2014.



Fiok Committee Members



Naab Abuntoari Akanab Apoom-ween - Chairman

Akamba Mathias-secretary

Listowell Yesu Bukarson- Paramount Chief representative

Amoak Roland – Bulsa South District’s Representative

Colbert Yansa-Bulsa North District’s Representative



Culture Sub-Committee members

Naab Abuntoari Akanab Apoom-ween (chairman)

Naab Aloysius Akanfebanyueta Asiuk

Naab Anyatuik Anko

Naab Apig-jiak Afulaang

Akamba Mathias


Sports Sub-Committee

Bawa Nuagah – chairperson

Amoak Roland

Evans Akangyelewon Atuik

Paul Afolindek


Media and Publicity Sub-committee

Listowell Yesu Bukarson - chairperson

Cornelius Abaadagmi Adumpo

Winston Atigsi-badek Afoko

Richard Abilimdjo Andii

Grace Abayiak